5 Seconds of Summer – “2011”

5 Seconds of Summer have released the new single “2011.”

Today, multi-platinum selling superstar pop/rock band 5 Seconds of Summer release their new single “2011” via BMG – listen HERE. The reflective track arrives in celebration of the band’s ten years of success, paying homage to their sensational journey from 2011 to now. The song was written by Michael Clifford, Calum Hood & Nick Long and co-produced by Clifford (the first 5SOS track to be self-produced) & John Feldmann, who produced most of the band’s sophomore album, Sounds Good Feels Good.
Additionally, the band will kick off their massive global livestream event “The 5 Seconds of Summer Show” today at 2pm PT/5pm ET – watch HERE. The show will be broadcast free to the fans on YouTube, the place where 5 Seconds of Summer began their meteoric rise a decade ago. Appearing from Los Angeles, the show is more than just musical performances. As well as classic hits from their catalogue, the band embark on a comedic journey of sketches related to the last 10 years and unique insights into special memories and moments, plus the first live performance of the new single, “2011”.
“This year we’re celebrating 10 years of 5 Seconds of Summer. Singlehandedly the best 10 years of our lives. So, to honor every experience, lesson and person we’ve encountered we decided to make The 5 Seconds of Summer show. Something that captures the pursuit of creation, the love of the relationship we have with our fans and the endless boundary of what it means to be in a band. Above all else we were once again rediscovering how beautiful it is to be able to share our story together. Alongside that we will release a song called ‘2011’ which is an homage to the past, and a nod to what we have in store to the future. We’ve loved every minute of being in this band. Here’s to another ten years of 5 Seconds of Summer,” said the band collectively.

Formed in 2011, 5 Seconds of Summer is a multi-platinum pop/rock band from Australia featuring Luke Hemmings (vocals/guitar), Michael Clifford (vocals/guitar), Calum Hood (vocals/bass), and Ashton Irwin (vocals/drums). The band got their start bringing their pure punk energy to pop music and quickly became a global phenomenon. They were quickly hailed as the “biggest new rock act in the world” by Rolling Stone, and is the only band in history to see its first three full-length studio albums enter the Billboard 200 at No. 1. 

Touring the world several times over, the band have sold over 2.5m concert tickets, sold more than 12 million albums, and recently joining Spotify’s exclusive Billions Club with their hit single “Youngblood”.
Among their many accomplishments, 5 Seconds of Summer have been recognized with numerous prestigious accolades including 10 European Music awards, five ARIA awards, two MTV Video Music Awards, an American Music Award, a People’s Choice Award, two iHeartRadio Music Awards, and three APRA Awards.
This year marks their 10th year anniversary together.