Liner Notes (February 22nd, 2019)

In this week’s roundup I talk about tackling tweet embedding in the forums, share my thoughts on Into the Spider-Verse during my weekly media diet rundown, and it was a pretty music heavy week this week, so there’s a lot of singles and new albums to discuss. I also share a playlist of ten songs I loved this week and rant about the NCAA. The supporter Q&A post can be found here.

This article is available exclusively to supporters of our website. Join now for as little as $3 per month and get access to exclusive content and a variety of perks. Plus, you'll be helping an independent publisher. Learn more here.

The Story Behind ‘Spider-Verse’ Using “Sunflower”

The writers of Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse share with Vulture the steps that went into using “Sunflower” in the movie:

It was critical that the song gag landed. We had a feeling it was because people knew the song, and they knew how he was messing it up. We were in big trouble when we couldn’t use it anymore — we needed to replace one of the greatest songs of the year, and we had to do it in time to spend the three months we would need to animate that shot. It turns out “Sunflower” is a massive hit song. We heard it as part of a batch of songs that Republic Records presented to us.

We also liked the metaphor this presents: Miles is singing a song that theoretically he’s a little too young for and he doesn’t know the words yet. That’s the metaphor we’re going to be working with for most of the rest of the movie. He’s going to be asked to step into shoes that he feels he’s not ready for, he’s not going to know the words, and he’s going to feel very self-conscious and nervous about that.

I love reading about the process behind decisions like this.

Chvrches Singer Lauren Mayberry Will Be First Face and Voice of New BBC Scotland Channel

Brian Ferguson, writing at Scotsman:

Chvrches singer Lauren Mayberry will be the first face and voice of BBC Scotland’s new TV channel – after her band were asked to record a brand new version of one of their songs.

The Glasgow-based pop and electronica group joined forces with the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra to record a special orchestral version of their hit Miracle for a sequence lasting nearly three minutes which will herald a new era in Scottish broadcasting this weekend.