Young the Giant to Celebrate 10-Year Anniversary

Young the Giant

Young the Giant will be celebrating the ten year anniversary of their self-titled album will a virtual concert, special digital release, and a new vinyl release. The full press release can be found below.

Coinciding with the original release date a decade ago today, Elektra recording groupYoung the Giant have announced plans to celebrate the tenth anniversary of their RIAA-certified Gold, self-titled debut album. Young the Giant (10th Anniversary Edition) is set to arrive digitally at all streaming services and as a limited edition, double-vinyl onNovember 20, followed by a special 10-year anniversary virtual concert experience onNovember 21.
Young The Giant (10th Anniversary Edition) features 4 bonus tracks, including a recent re-recorded version of “Take Me Home” – initially cut under the group’s prior moniker The Jakes on the out-of-print Shake My Hand EP (full tracklisting below). The 2-LP configuration – available for pre-order now - also includes a 20-page booklet and poster.
For the special 10-year anniversary virtual concert experience, the band return to the site of the album’s genesis—the world-famous Sunset Sound Studios— for a one-time performance of the record in its entirety powered by Singlemusic. This notably marks the group’s last performance of 2020 and only playthrough of the album in their decade long career. The general on-sale goes live at this WednesdayOctober 28 at 12pm ET, including special ticket bundles with the limited edition vinyl and exclusive merchandise.

Young The Giant said: “It’s hard to believe that it’s been a decade since we released our self-titled debut album. It’s almost surreal thinking back to that time - we were all barely out of high school, chasing our dreams with an almost childlike enthusiasm and actually living them. Obviously so much has happened since then - writing and releasing three more albums, countless tours that have taken us around the world, marriage, even children - but the rush we get from making music together remains unchanged. We’re so excited to perform this very special album in its entirety from front to back – something we’ve never done before – and to celebrate it’s 10 year anniversary with each other and all of our fans. But it’s not all about looking backward - we’re already busy working on new material that we can’t wait to share.”

To kick off the celebration, Young The Giant just shared a performance of the breakout platinum hit “My Body” originally shot in 2016 for Live from the Artists Den on PBS. Watch it HERE. The band delivered an electrifying set in front of a packed hometown crowd at the iconic El Rey Theater in Los Angeles highlighted by fan favorites. A special 24-hour release of the full episode will be available for streaming at November 12.

Young the Giant unassumingly morphed from a Southern California band of teenage friends into a platinum-certified arena headliner with an alternative sound equally entrenched in integrity and infectiousness. Released digitally on October 26, 2010, the band’s 2010 self-titled full-length debut, Young the Giant, has become a seminal alternative rock album, earning Gold certification from the RIAA and spawning two signature Platinum singles: “My Body” and “Cough Syrup.” Fronted by Sameer Gadhia – who the New York Times calls, “one of the great contemporary rock voices” – the band have released a string of critically acclaimed albums over the past decade, including Mind over Matter [2014], Home of the Strange [2016], and most recently Mirror Master [2018] including the hit song “Superposition”, which peaked at #1 on the Alternative Radio Charts. Along the way, they also headlined sold-out shows at hallowed venues such as The Forum, Radio City Music Hall, The Greek Theatre, The Aragon Ballroom, and Red Rocks Amphitheatre, to name a few in addition to making main stage appearances atBonnarooAustin City LimitsLollapaloozaOutside LandsGovernor’s Ball, and many more. With just shy of 1 billion streams and widespread acclaim, their impact only continues to grow with each subsequent release as they never stop evolving.

Track Listing

  1. Apartment
  2. My Body
  3. I Got
  4. Cough Syrup
  5. God Made Man
  6. 12 Fingers
  7. Strings
  8. Your Side
  9. Garands
  10. St. Walker
  11. Islands
  12. Guns Out
  13. Every Little Thing (Demo) (Bonus Track)
  14. Typhoon (Bonus Track)
  15. Strings (Reprise) (Bonus Track)
  16. Take Me Home (2.0) (Bonus Track)