Josh Ritter Announces New Album

Josh Ritter will release Spectral Lines on April 28th.

January 24, 2023—Renowned singer, songwriter, musician, artist and best-selling authorJosh Ritter will release his anticipated new album, Spectral LinesApril 28 via Thirty Tigers (pre-order here). In advance of the release, two album tracks are debuting today: “Sawgrass” and “For Your Soul.” Watch a video for both songs, created by flatspot and filmed in Alaska and Brooklyn, HERE. 

Produced by Ritter’s longtime collaborator Sam Kassirer (Lake Street Dive, Langhorne Slim), Spectral Lines finds Ritter expanding beyond the bounds of his previous work to create a record both atmospheric and profound. Dedicated to the memory of his mother, Ritter searches for commonality across these ten seamless tracks by exploring life’s most universal ideas—love, devotion and what it means to be connected, to both each other and to ourselves. 

One of today’s most thoughtful and prolific voices, Ritter has released ten studio albums including 2019’s widely acclaimed, Fever Breaks, of which NPR Music praised, “He remains a hydrant of ideas while embodying an endless capacity for empathy and indignation, often within a single song.” In addition to his work as a musician, Ritter is also a national best-selling author, having released two novels to date: 2011’s Bright’s Passage and 2021’s The Great Glorious Goddamn of It All, for which the film rights have recently been optioned for development. Released to critical attention, Stephen King wrote in The New York Times Book Review that Bright’s Passage “shines with a compressed lyricism that recalls Ray Bradbury in his prime…This is the work of a gifted novelist.” 

In celebration of the new record, Ritter and his band, the Royal City Band, will return to the road this spring with headline shows at Chicago’s Thalia Hall, Nashville’s historic Ryman Auditorium, Washington, DC’s Lincoln Theatre, Philadelphia’s Keswick Theatre, Boston’s House of Blues and New York’s Beacon Theatre among others. Ritter will also perform a series of solo acoustic shows in March. See below for complete itinerary. Tickets for the spring dates go on-sale this Friday, January 27 at 10:00am local time. Full details can be found at

Track Listing

  1. Sawgrass
  2. Honey I Do
  3. Horse No Rider
  4. For Your Soul
  5. Black Crown
  6. Strong Swimmer
  7. Whatever Burns Will Burn
  8. Any Way They Come
  9. In Fields
  10. Someday