Brett Ayala Jones – “Not One of You” (Song Premiere)

Brett Ayala Jones

Brett Ayala Jones, the former guitarist for Fireworks, will be releasing his second solo EP on November 18th. Today we’ve got a premiere of the new song “Not One of You” — which you can stream below. This is the first release from Brett since the end of his former band and he was joined in the Detroit studio by Teddy Roberts (Fireworks) on drums and electric bass, Adam Mercer (Fireworks) on keys, and Sam Harris on upright bass.

You can pre-order the new EP, San Pedro, right now over via Save Your Generation Records.

Read More “Brett Ayala Jones – “Not One of You” (Song Premiere)”

Review: Fireworks – All I Have to Offer Is My Own Confusion

Fireworks - All I Have to Offer Is My Own Confusion

As I was strolling down the lonely search pages of, I came across the surprising, mildly disappointing realization that Fireworks’ All I Have to Offer Is My Own Confusion has yet to be reviewed here. Given the news of the phenomenal tour that Fireworks are going to kick off in late summer, I thought it appropriate to give one of the best debut pop punk full lengths of recent memory a write-up. Full of uplifting, earnest pop punk, Detroit natives Fireworks have nothing to hide. Taking after New Found Glory, their sound offers nasally vocals from Dave Mackinder which are kept afloat by furious instrumentation from Brett Jones, Chris Mojan, Kyle O’Neil, and Tymm Rengers. Mackinder’s distinctive voice and a style that yearns for stage dives have made Fireworks one of the central pieces in the group of young, up and coming bands that is sending shock waves through the pop punk circle.

Read More “Fireworks – All I Have to Offer Is My Own Confusion”