Interview: Ali Tabatabaee of Fear No Empire

Fear No Empire

A few days ago I was able to have a conversation with Ali of Fear No Empire, and we chatted about why he decided to form a new, politically-charged rock band after so many years with pop-punk band Zebrahead. Fear No Empire is Ali Tabatabaee – Vocals (Zebrahead,) Ben Ozz – Bass (Zebrahead,) Dan Palmer – Guitar (Zebrahead, Death By Stereo,) and Mike Cambra – Drums (The Adolescents, Death by Stereo and Common War). Their new single, “Revolt” captures their punk rock spirit with some hip-hop elements thrown into the mix. During my conversation with Ali, we discussed the formation of this new band, what makes Fear No Empire unique, and the recording process of their new self-titled EP that will be released this October.

Read More “Ali Tabatabaee of Fear No Empire”

Zebrahead Breakdown New Album


Zebrahead’s new album is out today and the band did a track-by-track breakdown over at Punktastic:

We recorded this song initially with live instruments and then went back and added some loops in order to create the rap verses. In this album, we experimented more with adding loops as the song writing progressed, rather than having them be an afterthought. I really love how the chorus kicks in and lifts the entire songs. This is one of my favourites on the album.

Zebrahead to Announce Compilation Album


Zebrahead will be releasing The Bonus Brothers, a compilation album, on November 24th. The album will contain a variety of songs that were previously only available in Japan. The band have also announced they’re currently working on a new album:

We have been recording the new album and are getting to the point where we can say we are “ALMOST” done. In December, we will start releasing studio recording videos with snippets of new songs…….excited and nervous for you guys to start hearing some of these songs.