A Place To Bury Strangers
Exploding Head

The sophomore record from A Place To Bury Strangers called Exploding Head has received a vinyl reissue with nearly a full second album’s worth of bonus tracks tacked on to the end for your enjoyment. This “noise rock” band sounds crisp and full on the vinyl version that I’m listening to, and features some extensive packaging and other treats in this 13th anniversary deluxe set. When the album was released in 2009, it garnered mostly positive reviews, and it’s easy to see why. A Place To Bury Strangers channel the deepest, darkest parts of industrial rock in a sound that fans of NIN, My Bloody Valentine, and AFI would certainly enjoy.

From the raucous opening riff on “It is Nothing,” that bleeds into the lead single “In Your Heart,” there’s plenty to unpack and enjoy on this band’s sophomore effort. “Lost Feeling” and “Ego Death” are sprawling, five-minute plus tracks that can still capture the imagination of new audiences as this set of songs sound vibrant and full on this remastered collection. Other standouts like “Deadbeat” and “Smile When You Smile” crank the guitars up in the mix as lead vocalist Oliver Ackerman howls lyrics in the background that are barely decipherable, yet still demand your attention as the band nitpicks on every gory detail.

The bonus tracks found on the end of the set feature a few new twists and turns from rarely heard songs, including the David Bowie cover of “Suffragette City.” Overall, there’s plenty to get excited about on this 13th anniversary deluxe repackaged album that screams along with purpose. I also would recommend getting the vinyl reissue to lose yourself in the hazy artwork and liner notes that will make you a believer in A Place To Bury Strangers.